[Bad] Kid at Heart

There’s nothing like a malfunctioning GPS and immediate family that brings out the kid in me – and I mean that in the worst way possible.It was Thanksgiving afternoon, and my husband, son and parents were in the car driving back from Chicago’s Chinatown, after lunch with my husband’s family. We plugged our end destination into the GPS and jumped on the highway, but a few miles later the GPS suddenly changed routes on us.  After a few minutes of frustration, I was ready to throw my husband’s new phone out the window.

After the incident, my husband asked me why I reacted to poorly.  I realized that, for better or worse, I felt free to act however I want in front of my own parents. I reverted back to some pre-teen bratty version of myself. Believe me, I would have been a LOT more patient and restrained if HIS parents were in the car!  It was a healthy dose of humility to realize that despite my status as wife and mother, I am still a [misbehaving] kid at heart, who needs to continually grow in patience, grace and consistency of character.

2 comments
  1. Angie L said:

    It’s hard to believe, but I appreciate your humility in sharing that even Julie can have a bad day. 🙂

    • Haha! Believe me, I have daily ‘bad kid’ moments. Just ask my hubs. 🙂 PTL ‘his mercies are new every morning’!

Leave a Reply

